Africa Sun News

 Telling Africa's Story As It Unfolds   Home | About ASN | FAQ | Site Map | Contact | Bookmark This Site

Africa Sun News Now

Latest News
Regional News
Other News

For Africa Watchers


Exploring Africa

Eco Tour
Maps & Photos
Countries Lists
Doing Business
Jobs In Africa


Bookmark This Site [>]
Email To A Friend [>]
Make ASN Your Home [>]
File List [>]

The Countries of Africa

The countries included in each region of Africa often cross over to the groupings of another region. These are noted below each group. Country name changes are noted, as well.

The 54 Countries Of Africa
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa, formerly Zaire), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville), Reunion, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome & Principe, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara*, Zambia, Zanzibar, Zimbabwe.

The Countries Of East Africa
Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda.

The Countries Of West Africa
Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Gambia, Ghana, Guinea (Conakry), Guinea(Bissau), Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Mauritius and Tanzania are often included.

The Countries Of Central Africa
Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe.

The Countries Of North Africa
Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia, Western Sahara*.

Mauritania is sometimes included in the North Africa grouping.
* Disputed and often not counted.

The Countries Of South Africa
Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius*, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania*, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

* Often grouped in East Africa.

Home | About Africa Sun News | Photos of Africa | FAQ | Site Map | Contact | Bookmark This Site

2003 All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
Photo credit this page: 2002-2003 Scott Macaskill
These pictures are copyright protected and may not be used or downloaded without permission.
Powered by

Africa Forum

Travel Guides

 Weather-Enter African City
powered by

XR QuickCalculator™